Grandfather Mountain

Grandfather Mountain รีวิว, Linville

ภูเขา • สถานที่ชมธรรมชาติ/ชีวิตสัตว์ป่า
ความคิดเห็นของนักท่องเที่ยว

แนะนำให้แก้ไขเพื่อปรับปรุงสิ่งที่เราแสดง
ปรับปรุงข้อมูลสถานที่ให้บริการนี้
Travellers' Choice คืออะไร
Tripadvisor มอบรางวัล Travellers’ Choice ให้กับที่พัก สถานที่ท่องเที่ยว และร้านอาหารที่ได้รับรีวิวยอดเยี่ยมอย่างต่อเนื่องจากนักท่องเที่ยวและได้รับการจัดอันดับอยู่ใน 10% แรกของสถานที่ให้บริการยอดนิยมบน Tripadvisor
พื้นที่
ที่อยู่
สถานที่ใกล้เคียงที่ดีที่สุด
ร้านอาหาร
20 ภายใน 5 กม.
สถานที่ท่องเที่ยว
29 ภายใน 10 กม.

4.5
2,173 รีวิว
ดีเยี่ยม
1,560
ดีมาก
444
ธรรมดา
99
แย่
41
แย่มาก
29

Debbie Aguilar
แคนซัสซิตี, มิสซูรี่14 ผลงาน
พ.ย. ค.ศ. 2021 • เดินทางคนเดียว
Was skeptical about paying to drive into a park but it was so worth it. I went straight to the bridge to do that first.

FYI the road was very steep, curvy & thin lanes. I was not ready for that and it was a bit unnerving. Ok it freaked me out.

It was absolutely beautiful at the top. The view was spectacular. Walked across the bridge which was fun. I loved that you could go on it as many times as you wanted and at your own pace.

The one thing I wish I would have known before I went was that I could have parked at the top trail area and walked the rest of the way to the bridge. That last part of the drive was the worst and I could have avoided it.

Also did the animal sanctuary. It was a nice end to the day but nothing great. The inside was under construction. Walked about 30 minutes on 1 trail across from the bridge.

Overall well worth it, had a great time.
เขียนเมื่อ 6 มกราคม ค.ศ. 2022
รีวิวนี้เป็นความเห็นหรือทัศนะของสมาชิก TripAdvisor และไม่ใช่ของ TripAdvisor LLC

ARL2601
Arlington, VA205 ผลงาน
พ.ย. ค.ศ. 2021
It was painfully windy at the top the day we went, making actually walking out on the bridge impossible. I would have appreciated some kind of weather/wind condition advisory being posted somewhere before purchasing the $22/person tickets. Literally no one was able to spend any amount of time outside at the top. Smaller cars were being gently lifted in the gusts. The elevator was broken. And the nature musuem/center was closed for renovations - which to be fair was posted on the website - but we didn't realize constituted most of what there is to do.

So all we had left was drive the 2 miles of curves and listen to the USB stick guided tour, which was interesting, but not worth $22.

Go only in nice weather and check status of exhibits/habitats.
เขียนเมื่อ 28 พฤศจิกายน ค.ศ. 2021
รีวิวนี้เป็นความเห็นหรือทัศนะของสมาชิก TripAdvisor และไม่ใช่ของ TripAdvisor LLC
Hi, there. Thanks so much for taking the time to share your thoughts and feedback. I'm so sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your visit to Grandfather Mountain. Regarding weather, we'll close the bridge and top area when gusts reach a certain level, and it sounds like the day you visited must have been close. As such, I'm sorry you weren't able to enjoy the full experience. Just so you know, during those of inclement weather, when the bridge and top are closed, we do post a notice on the front page of our website and ticketing page. We also apologize for any inconvenience you experienced due to our museum renovations. We do offer other activities, however, including environmental wildlife habitats, which are home to rescued black bears, cougars, elk, river otters and bald eagles; access to 12+ miles of hiking for practically any skill level; a Junior Ranger program for the kids; 100+ picnic areas; a restaurant; gift shops and more, all included with admission. During the busier times of year, we also offer daily nature programs, an eco-friendly fudge shop and special events, also all included with admission. Regarding the nature museum, the aforementioned renovations will nearly double its size with all new, interactive state-of-the art exhibits, educational classrooms, a new auditorium, outdoor pavilion and more, meaning there will be plenty of alternatives for outdoor fun, should the weather not cooperate. Again, thanks for taking the time to write and share your thoughtful feedback, and again, apologies for any inconvenience. We look forward to having you and yours back on the mountain in the future.
เขียนเมื่อ 27 ธันวาคม ค.ศ. 2021
คำตอบนี้เป็นความเห็นหรือทัศนะของตัวแทนของฝ่ายบริหาร และไม่ใช่ของ TripAdvisor LLC

denise nowak
1 ผลงาน
ธ.ค. ค.ศ. 2020
summer and winter experience. when I was younger I spent all my summers in Linville. My family is from there. We would go up on the mountain a few times a week. it's beautiful. We call it gods country. At that time the swinging bridge would swing when it was windy. At that time there was only a small gift shop. so now you know how long ago it was. My uncle Bill Hanna was security at night for the mountian and would take me up there. and we would walk the grounds. Most of my family is gone now but my Mother would tell me to stop telling everyone about this place because the residents want to keep it for themselves, I didn't blame them. but look at us now. It is the most beautiful place. those people are very brave for being up there in a wind storm! God bless everyone who gets to visit or who lives there. With love for Grandfather, Denice xoxo
เขียนเมื่อ 28 พฤศจิกายน ค.ศ. 2021
รีวิวนี้เป็นความเห็นหรือทัศนะของสมาชิก TripAdvisor และไม่ใช่ของ TripAdvisor LLC
Thank you so much for the kind words, Denice! We're honored and humbled to be a part of our family's story. We look forward to having you and yours back on the mountain.
เขียนเมื่อ 27 ธันวาคม ค.ศ. 2021
คำตอบนี้เป็นความเห็นหรือทัศนะของตัวแทนของฝ่ายบริหาร และไม่ใช่ของ TripAdvisor LLC

Michael A
เชสพีก, เวอร์จิเนีย847 ผลงาน
ต.ค. ค.ศ. 2021 • คู่รัก
Grandfather Mountain is a beautiful spot to visit in the fall. The "Mile High Swinging Bridge" is a fun thing to do, and the views are spectacular. Some nice hiking trails are available for all levels of hikers. Nice gift shop set up. The animal enclosures give you good looks at eagles, elk, a panther and a bear. When we visited, the exhibit hall was closed for renovation.
เขียนเมื่อ 30 ตุลาคม ค.ศ. 2021
รีวิวนี้เป็นความเห็นหรือทัศนะของสมาชิก TripAdvisor และไม่ใช่ของ TripAdvisor LLC
Thanks for taking the time to share such a kind and thoughtful review! We look forward to having you and yours back on the mountain in the future.
เขียนเมื่อ 27 ธันวาคม ค.ศ. 2021
คำตอบนี้เป็นความเห็นหรือทัศนะของตัวแทนของฝ่ายบริหาร และไม่ใช่ของ TripAdvisor LLC

mailstop
TN337 ผลงาน
ต.ค. ค.ศ. 2021
Interesting place. Not too crowded, thank goodness. Walking out on the rocks is rather, ummm, adventurous. The "mile high" bridge advertising is deceptive. It's really an 80-foot high bridge that's a mile above sea level.
เขียนเมื่อ 26 ตุลาคม ค.ศ. 2021
รีวิวนี้เป็นความเห็นหรือทัศนะของสมาชิก TripAdvisor และไม่ใช่ของ TripAdvisor LLC
Hi, there. Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback! Sorry to hear you feel our advertising is deceptive. We offer information about the bridge, including its elevation above the ground, on our website, brochure and social media to show our guests that it's not as intimidating as it sounds. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed venturing out onto the peak! If you enjoyed that, you might also enjoy some of our hiking trails. We offer access to more than 12 miles of alpine hiking, from simple strolls in the woods to backcountry treks up ladders and cables. Again, thanks for taking the time to write. We hope you and yours have a wonderful holiday season, and we hope to see you back on the mountain.
เขียนเมื่อ 27 ธันวาคม ค.ศ. 2021
คำตอบนี้เป็นความเห็นหรือทัศนะของตัวแทนของฝ่ายบริหาร และไม่ใช่ของ TripAdvisor LLC

llhtexas
ออสติน, เท็กซัส161 ผลงาน
ต.ค. ค.ศ. 2021 • คู่รัก
Lovely park to visit. Well organized with audio tour and friendly staff. Scenery is beautiful and the wildlife reserve was fabulous.
เขียนเมื่อ 23 ตุลาคม ค.ศ. 2021
รีวิวนี้เป็นความเห็นหรือทัศนะของสมาชิก TripAdvisor และไม่ใช่ของ TripAdvisor LLC
Thank you for the kind words! We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share such positive feedback. Again, thank you. We look forward to having you and yours back on the mountain.
เขียนเมื่อ 27 ธันวาคม ค.ศ. 2021
คำตอบนี้เป็นความเห็นหรือทัศนะของตัวแทนของฝ่ายบริหาร และไม่ใช่ของ TripAdvisor LLC

benton2569
วิลลิงตัน, คอนเน็กติกัต615 ผลงาน
ต.ค. ค.ศ. 2021
As others have noted YOU MUST BUY TICKETS ONLINE - in advance of your planned visit. The website is pretty easy to use. You must select a planned time arrival time also. Tickets are $21 a person (not cheap). There are reduced rates for seniors, veterans and kids. They ay there may be extra tickets available at the entrance but I wouldn't chance it.

Even though this is pricey it is still a great experience: the drive up the windy road with hairpin turns and gorgeous views, the mile high swinging bride, hiking trails, gift shop (and rest rooms), snack bar and a nature center (currently under construction) with a small animal park (bears, elk, otters, cougar and eagles).

Bring some food or pack a lunch. - there are several places to park that have picnic tables and fantastic views of the countryside. Also bring a jacket and dress warm for the Swinging Bridge - it is over 5k feet above sea level. Temperatures are is much cooler at the top of the mountain plus It gets windy and the weather is constantly changing. At $21 per person you want to take your time and enjoy the views.

FYI your entrance ticket is good all day so you can visit in the morning when it is less crowded and come back for sunset.
เขียนเมื่อ 22 ตุลาคม ค.ศ. 2021
รีวิวนี้เป็นความเห็นหรือทัศนะของสมาชิก TripAdvisor และไม่ใช่ของ TripAdvisor LLC
Hi, there. Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a thoughtful and helpful review! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to Grandfather Mountain. It sounds like you and your group had a wonderful day on the mountain! You may also be interested to know that we're owned and operated by the nonprofit Grandfather Mountain Stewardship Foundation, a nonprofit focused on inspiring conservation. As such, admission and every dollar spent in the park, from gift shops to the restaurant to our solar-powered fudge, goes right back into the mountain, ensuring it'll be preserved for generations to come. Again, thank you for sharing such positive feedback. We sincerely look forward to having you and yours back on the mountain. Till then, happy holidays!
เขียนเมื่อ 27 ธันวาคม ค.ศ. 2021
คำตอบนี้เป็นความเห็นหรือทัศนะของตัวแทนของฝ่ายบริหาร และไม่ใช่ของ TripAdvisor LLC

ThePCGuy
Boca Raton, Florida231 ผลงาน
ต.ค. ค.ศ. 2021
Gotten a little pricey at $22 a person. Call ahead as they only let so many in at once now. There can be extra tickets which is how we got in. Bring your own food for lunch as $7 for a hotdog is crazy. It's Oct 21 still Covid-19 stuff masks inside. Fall colors are really nice. The animal enclosure are not huge, but a good size. You can't feed the bears anymore which is a good thing.

See the animals, drive to the top and walk the steel bridge which is 1 mile high, but only 80ft above the area. There are a couple of trails to hike at the top. Drive-up has some hairpin curves.
เขียนเมื่อ 18 ตุลาคม ค.ศ. 2021
รีวิวนี้เป็นความเห็นหรือทัศนะของสมาชิก TripAdvisor และไม่ใช่ของ TripAdvisor LLC
Hi, there! Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. Regarding our entrance fee and price structure, you may be interested to know that since the park is owned and operated by a nonprofit organization, the Grandfather Mountain Stewardship Foundation, every dollar spent in the park goes right back into it, ensuring the mountain will remain pristine for generations to come, while continuing our mission of inspiring conservation of the natural world. Thanks, too, for mentioning our reservation system! We've had this in place since May 2020, and it's proven to be very helpful, preventing lines from building up outside the park and limiting the number of people in the park at one time, to make the experience safer and enjoyable for all of our guests. Reservations must be booked through our website, although, as you mentioned, some tickets may be available at the gate for drive-up guests, during the week only. However, this cannot be guaranteed, especially during busy times of the year, such as summer, fall and holidays. Again, thanks so much for taking the time to write. We hope to see you and yours back on the mountain in the future!
เขียนเมื่อ 31 ธันวาคม ค.ศ. 2021
คำตอบนี้เป็นความเห็นหรือทัศนะของตัวแทนของฝ่ายบริหาร และไม่ใช่ของ TripAdvisor LLC

Rose P
แนชวิลล์, เทนเนสซี304 ผลงาน
ต.ค. ค.ศ. 2021
YOU MUST BUY TICKETS ONLINE!!! We showed up and were turned away. Got on the phone and bought tickets for 2 hrs later. So, went to Linville Falls to kill time, and that worked out fine. Came back. This place is a must do! Wow- the scenery is just awe inspiring. It is truly magnificent. Did the bridge and started the hike to the peaks. Of course, only made it a little past the patio, not close to the ladders at all because we ran out of time. It's crazy that they still sell tickets for 5:30 when the park closes at 7. Anyway, we bought more tickets and came during the week- we made it to MacRae and Attic Window. We've done plenty of hikes and this is the best of the best. Tons of pictures, some videos, one face-time call. Memories that are ingrained- this place is amazing. We would like to come back each year and make this hike. And we still have to make it to Calloway Peak and check out the Profile and Daniel Boone trail. Oh, we saw the bear and cougar too in the animal encounter. That was nice because it took their natural habitat and just enclosed it. Weekday at 10:30AM was good because we went directly to the parking lot. Sunday at 4:30, we were in the car for at least 30mins in a line of cars, a guy with a traffic sign on the last curve, directing a single flow of cars.
เขียนเมื่อ 15 ตุลาคม ค.ศ. 2021
รีวิวนี้เป็นความเห็นหรือทัศนะของสมาชิก TripAdvisor และไม่ใช่ของ TripAdvisor LLC
Thank you for such a wonderful review! We really appreciate your taking the time to share such positive and helpful feedback. It sounds like you enjoyed almost everything the park has to offer! The great thing about Grandfather Mountain, though, is that every visit brings a whole new experience. We look forward to seeing you and yours back on the mountain in the future.
เขียนเมื่อ 31 ธันวาคม ค.ศ. 2021
คำตอบนี้เป็นความเห็นหรือทัศนะของตัวแทนของฝ่ายบริหาร และไม่ใช่ของ TripAdvisor LLC

DisneyDarwin
สปริง, เท็กซัส998 ผลงาน
ต.ค. ค.ศ. 2021 • คู่รัก
We were on a long summer trip and did only a minor amount of research before visiting Grandfather Mountain. Therefore, we thought we were visiting a state park or other public park, not a private tourist attraction. The ladder can range from somewhat cheesy to downright terrible, but this was not the case at all. The mountain has a long proud heritage of private ownership, and they have done a good job to accentuate the views and nature at every opportunity. they give you an audio guide for the drive up the mountain which is informative, and let you know that there is a LOT there. We only spent a few hours, but this could easily be a full day destination. There is a nature center and also abundant hikes and sights on the way up, before you get to the main attraction. At the top, there is a good gift shop before you get to the Mile High Bridge and those incredible views. Alone, those are worth your time and money. Shortly after our walk around the top, they started herding people off the mountain because a storm was coming and lightning strikes are a big deal there. I was impressed that they had seasoned meteorologist at the top, and they were hyper sensitive to safety. lastly we toured they’re a little museum on the second floor, which had tons of info and great pictures on the history of the mountain over the decades. On our way down, we got to see a great lightning storm in a monsoon.
เขียนเมื่อ 4 ตุลาคม ค.ศ. 2021
รีวิวนี้เป็นความเห็นหรือทัศนะของสมาชิก TripAdvisor และไม่ใช่ของ TripAdvisor LLC
Thank you so much for such a kind, thoughtful and generous review! We sincerely appreciate your taking the time to share such positive feedback, but more so, we appreciate your visit. By visiting Grandfather, you've helped support our nonprofit mission of inspiring conservation of the natural world — and it sounds like you had a great time doing so! Thanks again. We look forward to having you and yours back on the mountain in the near future!
เขียนเมื่อ 31 ธันวาคม ค.ศ. 2021
คำตอบนี้เป็นความเห็นหรือทัศนะของตัวแทนของฝ่ายบริหาร และไม่ใช่ของ TripAdvisor LLC

แสดงผลลัพธ์ 1-10 จาก 2,173
มีสิ่งใดขาดหายหรือไม่ถูกต้องหรือไม่
แนะนำให้แก้ไขเพื่อปรับปรุงสิ่งที่เราแสดง
ปรับปรุงข้อมูลสถานที่ให้บริการนี้